Album Review: Train ‘Save Me San Francisco’

I’m not going to lie. I’m a massive Train fan, and have been since the moment I heard the first few bars of ‘Drops of Jupiter ‘ back in 2001.

You’ll even find me covering that song on my website. Despite releasing and selling millions of albums since then, they have remained relatively obscure, even enjoying a three-year hiatus, until new song ‘Hey Soul Sister’ exploded onto radio stations last year, along with ‘Save Me San Francisco’, their fifth studio album. And it’s a corker.

To a non-fan…the best comparisons I can draw-on are bands like Maroon 5 or The Script. Neither are particularly popular, but capable of producing anthemic, stadium-filling songs, perfect for a road trip or a video montage. We’re not talking about lyrical genius here, just a slice of well-made cheesy lite-rock.

The album begins with a classic Elton John/Rod Stewart flavoured title track, moving swiftly into worldwide smash-hit ‘Hey Soul Sister’.

Your lipstick stains, on the front lobe of my left-side brains,

I knew I wouldn’t forget you, so I went and let you blow my mind

Train have been writing songs like this for years, although why this particular track catapulted them back into popularity I’ll never know. What I do know is that after releasing this single, the album went gold in October 2010.

The album bounces along through bright, playful tracks like ‘I Got You’ as well as rock/pop ballads ‘Parachute’ and ‘This Ain’t Goodbye’.

For me, the highlight is ‘You Already Know’, where the cheese factor is dialed-down, starting with a simple strings intro, and building into an energetic rock anthem.

You Already Know – Train [link to Spotify]

Here, as well as on all 12 tracks, lead singer Pat Monaghan sounds incredible- for a guy in his forties he gives most budding rock-singers half his age a run for their money.

Train, if you’ll excuse the pun, look like they’re really back on track [sorry]. Buy this in time for summer 2011 and you won’t be disappointed.

If you don’t buy the album, download: Hey Soul Sister, Parachute, If It’s Love, You Already Know, Words

I defy you not to have this song in your head all day…

Leave a Reply

